European Broadband Awards 2017 open for entries

Close up of fibre cables
Norette Ferns

This year's European Broadband Awards are now open for entries.

These annual awards see the European Commission recognising outstanding broadband internet projects in Europe.

The awards are open to all types of projects irrespective of the size, location, or technologies used. The competition targets national, regional, and local public authorities as well as large and small privately funded projects that adopt innovative models of investment, business or financing structure.

The projects applied will be awarded in one of the five categories:

  1. Innovative models of financing, business and investment
  2. Cost reduction and co-investment in a future proof infrastructure
  3. Territorial cohesion in rural and remote areas
  4. Socio-economic impact and affordability
  5. Openness and competition

The closing date for entries is 7 September 2017.

Visit the European Commission website to find out more.