Winners of Rural Innovators Awards revealed

Food for Life group photo in front of food vans
Norette Ferns

Scottish Rural Action have revealed the winners of the national Rural Innovators Award 2015-16.

The awards recognise people, projects and organisations who are working to improve live in rural communities across Scotland. The winners have been invited to attend and present their projects to delegates attending the Scottish Rural Parliament, organised by Scottish Rural Action, in Brechin, Angus from 6 to 8 October 2016. 
The winners in each category are:

  • Business: Bùth Bharraigh Ltd (Isle of Barra)
  • Climate Change: Greening Kyle-Cosy Homes (East Sutherland)
  • Angus: The Food Life (Angus)
  • Community Council: Sleat Community Council (Isle of Skye)
  • Young People: Dynamic Dance (Shetland)
  • Health & Social Care: Inspired by Autism (Dunoon & Cowal)
  • Housing: Ulva Ferry (Isle of Mull)
  • Land: Rockfield Centre (Oban)
  • Transport: Mull & Iona Sustainable Transport (Isle of Mull)
  • Food & Drink: Mull & Iona Food Trail (Isle of Mull)

The Award categories reflect the key themes from the recently launched draft Manifesto for rural Scotland, released by Scottish Rural Action earlier this month, and also recognise a project in Angus - the host county for this year’s Scottish Rural Parliament event. 

National Coordinator for the Scottish Rural Parliament Emma Cooper said:

"This year’s awards were extremely competitive, and the high quality of all the projects across all categories reflects the high level of talent we have in rural Scotland. 

"We hope the awards will inspire other groups to take forward their ideas for the future."

Members of the public can attend the Scottish Rural Parliament event.  For more information, go to